Bleach: Kon

I don’t know how many of you know of Kon from the anime Bleach. He basically looks like a mix between a teddy bear, a lion, and a sun. (Well, that’s how I’d describe him!)

This show was one I used to watch when I was in high school and starting college. I stopped watching sometime randomly either because I became busy, or I got stuck in filler and got tired of them. >.> But Kon will always be one of my favorite characters from that series.

Anyway, I decided to make him. It was not a hard decision as my friend was coming to visit and go to an anime convention dressed as Orihime from the same series.


Orihime with Kon.

FYI: This is probably one of the biggest things I have made with crochet. Kon from toe to mane tip go from my middle finger to the crease in my elbow. So, be prepared for that. The only thing I did differently than the pattern I am posting is that on the front of the face, I didn’t include the extra sc row (I’ll point it out) but I feel like it would have been a little easier going if I had.. well, would have centered everything a little more.

Also, I shoved a dowel rod through the body and the head and stitched the head around the dowel rod to hide it to help keep Kon’s head up.
Pattern:
Continue reading