Bleach: Kon

I don’t know how many of you know of Kon from the anime Bleach. He basically looks like a mix between a teddy bear, a lion, and a sun. (Well, that’s how I’d describe him!)

This show was one I used to watch when I was in high school and starting college. I stopped watching sometime randomly either because I became busy, or I got stuck in filler and got tired of them. >.> But Kon will always be one of my favorite characters from that series.

Anyway, I decided to make him. It was not a hard decision as my friend was coming to visit and go to an anime convention dressed as Orihime from the same series.


Orihime with Kon.

FYI: This is probably one of the biggest things I have made with crochet. Kon from toe to mane tip go from my middle finger to the crease in my elbow. So, be prepared for that. The only thing I did differently than the pattern I am posting is that on the front of the face, I didn’t include the extra sc row (I’ll point it out) but I feel like it would have been a little easier going if I had.. well, would have centered everything a little more.

Also, I shoved a dowel rod through the body and the head and stitched the head around the dowel rod to hide it to help keep Kon’s head up.
Pattern:

Materials:
Yellow yarn (you could also use a burnt orange or well, you can figure out what color you’d like from pictures!)
Light brown yarn.
Dark brown yarn.
I used my size G crochet hook. You could use any hook you’d like.
and I used fun fur in brown for the tail.

Body: (yellow)
1. magic ring (5sc)
2. inc all around – 10
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15
4. inc, sc, sc, repeat around – 20
5. inc, sc, sc, sc, repeat around – 25
6. inc, 4 sc, repeat around – 30
7. inc, 5 sc, repeat around – 35
8. inc, 6 sc, repeat around – 40
9 – 15. sc around
16. dec, 6sc – 35, repeat
17. sc around
18. dec, 5sc, repeat – 30
19-20. sc around
21. dec, 4 sc, repeat – 25
22-24. sc around
25. dec, 3 sc, repeat – 20
26. dec, 2sc, repeat – 15
27. dec, sc, repeat – 10
28. dec around – 5
(I made the body from bottom up, so that his bottom was a little chubbier than his top)

Head: (Yellow) (Make 2)
1. magic ring (5sc)
2. inc all around – 10
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15
4. inc, sc, sc, repeat around – 20
5. inc, sc, sc, sc, repeat around – 25
6. inc, 4 sc, repeat around – 30
7. inc, 5 sc, repeat around – 35
8. inc, 6 sc, repeat around – 40
9. inc, 7 sc, repeat around – 45
10. inc, 8 sc, repeat around -50
11. sc around (I did this for the back piece, but not for the front, I feel like it would have made it a little easier to attach the spikes later if I had this.)
TO one and the other one contine…
12. sc piece 1 and piece 2 together. (before you finish this, place teh eyes and stuff. also, it works if you put the nose/mouth on so you can get an idea for blocking. I also like to stuff the muzzle bit so it puffs out
T.O. second piece (you can put the dowel rod in before or after you stitch them together)

Mouth Muzzle (nose part):(light brown)
make 2:
1. magic ring (5sc)
2. inc all around – 10
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15
4. sc around
T.O.

(Mouth part)
With pink:
1. ch 4.
2. sc in 2nd chain from hook to end – 3
3. in last ch, 3 more sc
4. then sc along other side until end (3 more sc)
5. 3 more sc in last ch.
6. Sc along side – 6
7. Switch to brown – ch 1 and turn.
8. Sc along until end ~ 5
9. Add 2 sc as you turn around the corner
10. Sc along until you hit the end again (you should have 12 st in brown making a U around the pink)

EARS: (Yellow) Make 2:
1. 6 sc ring
2. 2 in first, 2sc, repeat – 8
3. 2sc in 1st, 3sc, repeat – 10
4. 2 in 1st, 4 sc, repeat -12
5. inc, 5 sc, repeat – 14
6. inc, 6 sc, repeat -16
to
(it should look like a point)

Inner ear: with pink (Make 2):
1. ch 6
2. sc in 2nd ch from hook – 5st
3. dec, sc, dec – 3
4. dec, sc – 2
5. ch, sl st back to corner

spikes/mane (make 9) (dark brown)
1. Magic ring (4sc)
2. inc, sc, repeat – 6
3. inc, 2 sc, repeat – 8
4. inc, 3 sc, repeat – 10
5. inc, 4 sc, repeat – 12
6. inc, 5 sc, repeat – 14
7. inc, 6 sc, repeat – 16
8. inc, 7 sc, repeat – 18
9. inc, 8 sc, repeat – 20
T.O.


You can see how I pin a lot of it together…

Arms (yellow, make 2)
Start with light brown
1. magic ring (5sc)
2. inc all around – 10
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15
4. inc, sc, sc, repeat around – 20
change to yellow.
in back loops only:
5. sc around
crochet in both loops again.
6 – 9. sc around
10. dec, 8sc, dec 8sc -18
11. 5sc, dec, 7sc, dec, 2sc – 16
12 – 13. sc around
14. dec, 6sc, dec, 6sc – 14
15. – 20. sc around
to.

Legs: Start with light brown
1. magic ring (5sc)
2. inc all around – 10
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15
4. inc, sc, sc, repeat around – 20
change to yellow.
in back loops only:
5. sc around
crochet in both loops again.
6 – 10. sc around
11. dec, 8sc, dec, 8sc -18
12 – 13. sc around
14. dec, 7sc, dec, 7 -16
15 – 19. sc around
to

Tail: Fun fur – brown
1. ch. 6
2. sc in 2nd chain from hook. , 2 sc more, ch. 3, sc in 2nd chain from hook.. sc. then sc in same chain as where you started the ch3.. (This is to give a spikey look to the tail. you don’t HAVE to do this..)
3. ch. 3, 2 more sc like before
4. ch. 3, sc until you reach the end of the original ch (you should have a star looking thing.. the idea is to give the impression of the spikes on it)
5. I tied off here and hten um.. latched? yellow into that sc… With yellow I chained 24 and then tied off..


And there you have it, Kon.

4 thoughts on “Bleach: Kon

  1. One, Kon is absolutely awesome. I never get tired of looking at the photos of him and I wish I could crochet and make him. Two, I nominated you for the Sunshine Award on my blog. Because you always brighten my day. imogenelvis.blogspot.com.au/2014/07/awards-and-announcement.html

Leave a Reply

