Spinning Take 2

About a year ago, during the last Tour de Fleece, I learned how to use a drop spindle. It left me with a small amount of yarn (I still have not weighed/measured it) and it was rather fun to use. It did take me two weeks to get there though.
I put it aside as I got distracted.. I mean, while I really liked spinning, I was more interested in crocheting and making little things… I still am truthfully. Then I moved as well, which made my crafting mojo kinda putter out for a bit. (I’m going to move again soonish though.. possibly.. so hopefully I won’t lose my focus again!)
Not to say I didn’t make things.. but without my light box.. I was kinda sad to see the quality of my photos and was irritated by not having the space to make a new light box.. (I still don’t have the space yet, but I’m learning to live with my subpar photos.)
BUT. but.. What my mom had sitting in her living room was two spinning wheels. Why? She likes the look of them and one of them has been there for nearly as long as I could remember. The other.. I don’t know how long it has been in the house. Probably five or ten years…

I spent about two weeks, staring at these two that she uses for decoration. I looked them all over, seeing what they were missing, what they needed to be fixed, and then researching them online to see what I could do to fix them.

The older one, I never did get figured out.. >.> It’s bigger, and I think it needs something with the treadle.. But then, I was lazy and didn’t bother to pull it out completely.

The other one is an older model Ashford Traveller. It’s a single treadle and it creaks a lot because it hadn’t been taking care of in the best way.. Probably why my mom got it. Someone figured they couldn’t use it, and my mom picked it up for decoration. She had the flyer for both of them and after a little hunting as it got placed somewhere random, one bobbin.
There was some rust however in the flyer’s… tube? My terminology fails here. So I cleaned it up by using a little bit of sandpaper (and somewhere I read that on the metal after you use sandpaper you use a little bit of olive oil) and now the thing works like a charm.
Almost. It still squeaks. But, for someone who is learning and doesn’t want to spend hundreds of dollars on a new one since she IS learning, it works great. Oh! And I made a driveband out of some crochet thread.. Why? Because I wanted to get it working WITHOUT having to wait on more parts to come in.

All that was left was getting some fiber.

That’s where etsy comes in. I ordered a bag of random mismatched “mostly mohair” fiber, because I WAS learning and I didn’t mind having a random bag to play with.. Though, when I’m more experienced, I’d love to have a straight colorway.. One day!

My yarn came out decent. Its going to take me a lot of practice. The strand I have took a lot of cursing and breaking and then I’d get some rhythm to it, and have to stop because I needed to draft again.

However, the yarn starts off as bulky, and ends up going to really thin.. I also chainplyed it as thats what I understand so far.. One day I’ll learn more!

I measured this hank though using a ruler.. so my measurements may be off… It was just slightly over 30 yards (I think 33 yards, but I kinda forgot) and I have no idea what I’m going to make with it. Lol.

I don’t know if you can see the different sizes in there, but I’m happy because it’s mine. Even if all I use it for is to hold it up and shake it in people’s faces.. It’s mine. lol.

2 thoughts on “Spinning Take 2

  1. Ooh, nice work! I’m super excited to get my roving next week now! I ended up ordering mine from Knit Picks since I had some yarn that I was ordering from there anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

