Baxter the Tiny Dragon


This is Baxter. He’s curious.


He can’t climb trees, even though he tries…


He’s also tiny.
I made him using a size 7 stainless steel hook and size 10 crochet thread.


He also has 6mm black safety eyes.

I really don’t have much more to say about him. I’m proud of how he came out, truthfully. I’m getting used to working with crochet thread, but man, the small hook kills my hands. Luckily, I’ve bulked mine out with fimo clay, so it’s a little better. In order to stuff him, I use a pencil. Somewhere I found this smooth pencil that doesnt seem rough at all from sharpening. I have no idea where it came from, but it’s great for stuffing fiberfil into a tiny dragon.
Another great thing to use is a dowel rod. You can find them at walmart, or craft stores, or probably even the hardware stores.

That’s all for now! I have a few more completed projects, but I need to take some better pictures of them first.

16 thoughts on “Baxter the Tiny Dragon

  1. He’s adorable! I love that you used fine crochet thread too. What kind of hook are you using? I found a bit difference with lace type work when I switched to something with an ‘ergonomic’ or thicker handle. I love the Tulip Etimos and as they have a nicer hook on them I have to do less work which saves my hands for longer.

    • Thanks! Um. I’m not entirely sure the brand.. maybe a Boye steel crochet hook? Either way, it had no handle. But what I started to do on any crochet hook that I end up using for a while is to take some fimo clay, wrap it around the handle, and bake it. It makes all my handles a little to a lot larger and makes it less bothersome to work long hours with. I’ll have to look at the Tulip Etimos next time I go out. XD

      • I started with Boyes lace hooks but I found they didn’t ‘grip’ the yarn too well so I can crochet a lot more efficiently with the Etimos. I love your resourcefulness with making handles!

        • Hmm.I’ll definitely have to try the Etimos! I don’t use the smaller steel hooks very often, truthfully, but I’m trying to work with smaller hooks and thread. I honestly got the idea from seeing something similar with pens online.. lol.

    • Thanks! Oh! I never thought of a chopstick! I’ve tried knitting needles and the back of my crochet hooks.. but for whatever reason, this pencil or a dowel rod seems to work the best. Lol. I’ll have to try a chopstick though! That might be a great option if I happen to lose the only pencil that seems to work great as a fiber stuffer.

Leave a Reply

