Current events.

Lately, I’ve had a case of startitis.
You know the term. You start a project. You don’t complete it. It sits around in its semi-completed form just begging you to finish it. But for whatvever reason, you either drag your feet or you start something new and forgot about first project. Rinse and repeat.

But that’s not really what I wanted to talk about. The other reason I’ve been so quiet lately is because of all that’s been going on in the news.

First off, this election that’s coming up is going to be mad. Literally insane. I barely watch the news, but its all anyone talks about. Really, it’s just going to be one big mud-slinging battle until the very end.

And that’s not right.

Look, I don’t care what you believe or support, but you have to agree that hate only perpetuates hate. It’s so easy to slink and point the finger and say “well! Look at all the bad they’ve done! They’re a terrible person/group/party/etc!”

That’s what this has turned into. One person spewing hate and the other one slinging it back.

Here’s the problem though. If you throw hate at someone, or a group, or a religion… people get riled up. They start to fear and then things get out of hand.

I hate what happened in Orlando. I hate what happened with the innocents in the cars and with the police during the peaceful rally. Please understand that this is not the work of a group as a whole, but the works of individuals. Angry or scared individuals. Individuals who are fed hate after hate after hate. Individuals who are scared because of that hate and buying into the society we’ve let fester.

It needs to stop somewhere. I’m tired of hearing about shootings. I’m tired of hearing the finger pointed at a group. I’m tired of hearing about death and hate.

What I’d rather hear than endless hate is plans of change. Plans of actions. Plans saying “This is the end of this. Let’s make a pack to change it.” And then watching the follow-through of those plans.

It’s easy to slunk around and point the finger at someone else. It’s hard to sit there and say we’re all to blame. We are. We’ve created this culture of fear and hate. You cannot turn on the news without hearing about it. Hate breeds hate. Fear breeds panic. Hate and panic count towards some of these terrible events.

I ask you all to look into your hearts and find the beauty in the world. Find the beauty in each other. Don’t let this fear and hate own you. Let’s make this world hopeful again.

3 thoughts on “Current events.

  1. You know the term. You start a project. You don’t complete it. It sits around in its semi-completed form just begging you to finish it. But for whatvever reason, you either drag your feet or you start something new and forgot about first project.

     I call them PIGS Projects in Grocery Sacks

     

     I’m tired of hearing about death and hate.

    I spent my life working in law trying to change things.  I am one of the original hippies of 1968.  And now I have depression bec nothing has changed.  We have not stopped killing, we have not stopped polluting, we have not stopped prejudice.

    That is why I have retreated into my doll world and I don’t watch the new any more.

     

     Let’s make this world hopeful again.

    May peace be with all of us.

    Autumn angelcathouse@comcast.net

    dragonsashes posted: “Lately, I’ve had a case of startitis. You know the term. You start a project. You don’t complete it. It sits around in its semi-completed form just begging you to finish it. But for whatvever reason, you either drag your feet or you start something new “

  2. LOL. A lot of my projects are scattered around. They are in purses and project bags and boxes. They get tossed in the corner of the room and end up forgotten in a pile. One day I swear I will finish them all.

    Thank you for all that you’ve done. I believe that even if things don’t change, just by putting hope and the possibility out into the world it makes a difference. I believe that if each light of wanting to do good flickers out, all that’s left in its stead will be darkness. IT’s because of people like you who fought and fought trying to make a change that younger people can look back and see that, yes, there is hope. Even when all seems to be lost, I’m sure you made a difference. Maybe not some grand event as the world isn’t going to change overnight, but by trying, you might have inspired someone who will stand up and make those changes that you wanted. I keep seeing the same events repeated over and over, but I have to hope that people will start to notice, will start to care. Will stop crying out that its “This group’s fault.” I don’t expect this change to happen anytime soon, but I need to keep crying out about it. Someone needs to stand up and speak through the pain and fear and hate. IF only to try to keep my candle burning, my light shining on, as I hope for a better world.

    By the by, I love seeing your dolls. XD I love seeing what you’ve created. It makes me happy and inspires me.

Leave a Reply

