BOOK SWAP!

Hi guys! So, my swap partner got her package today/yesterday, so I can finally show you what I made/sent.

First off, let me tell you a little about the swap. We listed our 3 favorite books and we were to make at least 1 item inspired by the book, send 1 notion, and send 1 goodie or tool. All of that inspired by one of our partner’s three favorite books!
My partner listed HP, Neverwhere, and The Handmaiden’s Tale as her three favorites. Looking at the those, I immediately had lots of ideas about HP inspired things. Heck, there’s so much to choose from! So, I decided to go with HP.
First off, I made this bookmark out of perler beads:

I attached some yellow and red yarn to the end of it as well, but I didn’t take a picture of it.

Then I made a ton of little stitch markers out of clay.






I may have went a bit overboard making stitch markers, truth be told. But once I started, I had so much fun making them and I couldn’t quit.

Next I made this bag:

I first used a fabric marker and marked up the bag with a drawn yarn ball (I really cannot draw, so this was a huge undertaking for me) and I wrote the words on there. I then went over it all with puff-paint to give it more colors and a different look. I used some more puffpaint along the edge and I put some on the bottom of the bag to give it feet.

I also made Crookshanks.

I crocheted the entire body and form of Crookshanks, then attached orange and white yarn to that form. Where I then shredded the yarn and combed out all the fibers. It took waaay longer than I was expecting….

Lastly, I made a scarf:

Mainly, I wanted to try my hand at knitting again and this was the end result.

Then, this is what I got in the mail:

Oh man, I am so tickled pink. The scarf is beautiful. It’s one of those asymmetric ones and it totally looks like dragon wings. I am still awestruck by it and this picture does not do it justice. There’s chocolate and coffee and more yarn and a tape measure and some really cute stitch markers as well. Honestly, this was an awesome gift to get!


Just a couple of closeups to show you the scarf.. I love it. The yarn is beautiful and the pattern is gorgeous. Now just to figure out how to wear it… I think though, I will wear it to my graduation or graduation rehearsal thingy that we are required to attend… Cause otherwise, right now I’d just be wearing it over scrubs and it’s way too pretty for that.
Then here is a close-up of the stitch markers:

IF you can’t read them, they are book lover ones. One says, “Help! I’ve fallen in love with a fictional character!” another says, “so many books, so little time.” and that third one says, “I have always imagined that paradise will be a kind of library.” I’m obsessed with them and have been using them almost nonstop since I got them.

Anyway, I hope you are all doing well.

2 thoughts on “BOOK SWAP!

Leave a Reply

