Another dragon?!?!?

I have a thing about making dragons.
I mean, well, maybe its not a thiiiing, more as I make a lot of dragons.
Some of them get sent around the world, some of them stay with me, some of them get handed to friends as they admire them.
I make A LOT of dragons.
My first dragon I followed the Fierce but friendly dragon pattern by Lucy Ravenscar (first link goes to the old pattern, or the one I followed. Second one goes to Ravelry and her updated version. I have personally not looked at the updated version, but I wanted to link both of them)
and I loved it to pieces. I still have that dragon. It’s a little floppy as I was just getting the hang of making creatures (aka, it was my first creature) and I was so worried about the pattern.
But I loved it.
I then made a few more for my cousins and friends.
I made even more for friends around the globe and myself.
After the second or third one, I started to get the hang of how the pattern worked. How the shaping worked. And I started to change things around. I added in details or changed the wings or did something different for the spikes or didn’t give them spikes. The legs I totally do my own thing for 90% of the time anymore just because I’m lazy.
But yes, I make a lot of dragons.
I do not apologize for this. At one point, if I was sending a friend ANYTHING (especially since I wasn’t used to the mail and it still makes me SUPER NERVOUS to send things in the mail) they got a dragon.
Needless to say, now I’m trying to branch out more. Make more than just dragons.
But I still make a lot of dragons.



So welcome to the world little guy. He was interesting to make and a bit of a challenge as I was fiddling with the scales I bought forever ago.

What about you all? Anything you make more often than not? Any patterns that you loved to pieces and revist and adjust according to your style or how you want something to look?

8 thoughts on “Another dragon?!?!?

  1. Oh, the scales look so awesome! Nice work with this! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I don’t really have any one pattern that I knit/crochet repeatedly. I do end up making a lot of scarves though. My first knitted project was a scarf so family members always want one for themselves. It’s usually just a basic knitted pattern though, nothing fancy. ๐Ÿ˜›

    • Thanks! I bought the scales from a place called The Ring Lord. They have pretty big holes so it makes it easy to work with.

      Scarves are great if you use them! I live in Florida so there’s usually not a lot of use for them.

      • I’ll have to check that place out then! After I crocheted a helmet for my husband, he joked about having a pair of scale mail gauntlets to match. I might actually try that now. XD

        Oh yeah, Florida is more my speed when it comes to weather. I’m in GA and I still find myself colder than I’d like. I don’t know what I’d do if I was further north than I am. So scarves and gloves are handy things to have around. ๐Ÿ˜›

        • Yeah! I saw these Knitted scale mail gauntlets and I realllly cannot knit very well, so I decided to try a crochet version. And they came out pretty cool. So, maybe you can check that out.

          Lol! Yeah, as of now, I’m living in North Florida, and usually I’m from South Florida. So the cold thing is strange. ๐Ÿ˜› I don’t know if I could handle any colder.

Leave a Reply

