Week 52: Frozen Troll

Hey all! Well, I’m in my 52nd week of crafts. I wasn’t the best about posting every week, but I made it. This last week I made a troll from Frozen. Or well, TRIED to make a troll from Frozen.
If you haven’t seen the movie, I’m talking about these little guys:

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Elsa, and Anna, and Sven, and Cristoff and well, pretty much the entire crew of Frozen, but something about these little guys stuck with me.
So here he is, I tried to make the middle guy:

For next time, what I’d do different is use taffeta or yarn and longer locks, instead of the fur yarn that I used. It still came out really cool, but not like what I wanted. Also, I need to make his coat and give him the gems that he has hanging down, buuuuut, I haven’t gotten there yet.

I even scribbled a bit of a pattern!
To note: I usually make my body separate then the clothes becauuuuuuse it gives it a more realistic look that I like. But, if you’d like you can skip the cloak part, make half of the body/head portion in green, and it’ll have a close enough look to it.
To make your own troll:
Eyes: (white)
1. magic ring with 6 sc.
2. inc in first 4 stitches, 2 sc – 10, T.O. (you wanna place the eyes in the center of these.. I purposely made them a little off center.)

Head/Body: (In Grey)
1. magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch – 10
3. inc, sc. repeat around – 15
4. inc, 2 sc. repeat around – 20
5. inc, 3 sc. repeat around – 25
6. inc, 4 sc. repeat around – 30.
7-11. sc around
12. dec, 4 sc. repeat around – 25.
13. dec, 3 sc. repeat around – 20
14. dec, 2 sc. repeat around – 15
15. dec, 1 sc. repeat around – 10. (you might wanna stuff here before you get further.
16. inc, sc. repeat around – 15.
17. inc, 2 sc. repeat around – 20
18. inc, 3 sc. repeat around – 25
19 – 22. sc around.
23. dec, 3 sc. repeat around – 20
24. dec, 2 sc. repeat around – 15
25. dec, 1 sc. repeat around – 10.
26. dec around – 5. T.O.
I made it so the body was the bigger ball, and the head was the smaller ball, but its up to you. If you do decide to make the body the smaller ball, you might wanna sc around a few more rows before decreasing to give it some more length.

Nose:
1. magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch – 10
3. inc, 4 sc. repeat – 12
4. sc around and t.o.

Ears:
1. magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch – 10
3. for this row, I didn’t go all the way around: 3 inc – 6 st. then T.O where you are. (gives it a little oblong look)

Feet:
1. magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch – 10
3. inc, sc. repeat around – 15.
4. dec x4, sc around. – 11
5. sc, dec, sc around – 10.
6-8. sc around.

Arms:
1. magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch – 10
3 – 8. sc around

Cloak-thing (green):
1. Ch. 20, sl st to 1st ch. Ch 1 and turn.
2. inc by 5 randomly throughout, sl st. ch1 and turn.
3. 2 sc, ch. 4 then sc into 3rd st from last sc (arm hole), 8 sc, ch. 4 then sc into 3rd st from last sc, 9 sc, slst ch1 turn.
4. I ended with 28 sc. sl st. ch1 turn.
5. Increase by 2 (I did this along the sides where the seams would be) – sl st, ch1 turn (you should have 30 st all together)
6 -14. sc around
You can make this longer or shorter as you see fit, T.O. here.

For the hair, I used a eyelash yarn that I had laying around that had tones of gold and brown and green in it. I made the cap the same size as the head, then sc around a few times before I hit the “ears” where I ch 3 or 4 around to the other side. I did something similar to make the beard. HOWEVER, like I mentioned above, I think I’d rather use straw or some other material for the hair as I dont really like how it came out. You can also make the hair as big or as little as you’d like depending on how you want your troll to look.

Annnnnnd, that’s all I did for him. Happy crafting!

2 thoughts on “Week 52: Frozen Troll

  1. Looks awesome! I, too, love all the characters from Frozen (except maybe Hans), but the trolls are super cool. And your pattern looks fantastic; thanks for sharing! 😀

Leave a Reply

