Week 44: In which I learn to knit AND Happy Halloweeeeen!

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!
I made a few more ghosts, but nothing else really spooky. You can see my decorations in full effect here.

I don’t know how many times I’ve tried to knit. I really don’t. I’ll start to get the hang of it, then drop stitches left and right, sigh, and say “nope. not today.” It got to the point where I’d drool over knit work, but I was always hesitant of grabbing the needles over my hook.
I mean, seriously, how do you use two needles? There’s no hook? How does this even work?
Granted, one of my friends who knows how to knit says the same thing about crochet. So, it really is in what you learned first.
But seriously, I wanted to learn. I really did. It’s just… the thought of fighting with it was not something I wanted to do.
In the last few weeks, I’ve been working on learning. After another round of youtube videos as I forgot EVERYTHING I thought I learned before, I was happy with the one stitch. It worked. I got it to work… Buuuuut… the second stitch (purl I think?)… yeah, didn’t have that. How was that one supposed to work??
Not to mention since I’m learning it is sloooow going.. and I still wonder if I dropped a stitch..
I finished it though! And I learned both knit and purl! Yays!

I also made a golden snitch. The pattern I used was from Inner Child Crochet and it came out pretty awesome if I do say so myself.

And I made a bunny.

Anyway, I hope your day is full of treats and not tricks. Happy Halloween you guys! Anyone have any spooky crafts they’d like to share?

4 thoughts on “Week 44: In which I learn to knit AND Happy Halloweeeeen!

  1. Happy Halloween! I love your decorations! And great job learning how to knit – it really is more intimidating than crochet, at least IMHO. I learned to knit first and then how to crochet, and crochet makes a lot more sense to me. The hook makes it much easier than wrangling two needles! Your scarf looks quite excellent, though – I love the yarn!

    I made a snitch from that pattern once, too! Yours looks awesome. I love Harry Potter-themed patterns. πŸ™‚ And the bunny is adorable! How did you get the pink on its ears?

    Wow, sorry for such a long comment! Have a happy Halloween! πŸ™‚

    • It just feels weird! I look at these two points and the yarn doesnt seem to stay and it just feels weird. lol. But it did work.. The yarn is Caron Simply Soft Paints I think.. I have no idea the color way, but I love the way it came out and its soft too.
      LOL. I’d been looking at the snitch for a while, and I never made it.. no idea why. So I finally decided to give it a go.
      I used some eyeshadow and a q tip. I also did that for the pink nose.
      I hope you have a Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

