Week 38: 3 Ghost patterns (and I made a black cat)

I’m actually ahead of my postings, and I’ve been trying to write them up before I take pictures and post them for you all. Buuuuuuut, then I get distracted and I forget to post even though all the work is actually done.

Anyway, I made three different ghosts and wrote up a pattern for them:

Ghost number one: Ball head variety
1. Magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch (10)
3. Inc, sc. Repeat around (15)
4. Inc, 2 sc. Repeat around (20)
5-7. Sc in every stitch (20)
8. Dec, 2 sc. Repeat around (15)
9. Dec, sc. Repeat around (10)
10. Sc around. (10)
11. Inc, sc. Repeat around (15)
Now here’s where it got a bit different.. I’ll write down what I did, but you can do different variables of it to give it a different effect:
12. sc, ch 5 -> sc in second chain from hook then sc, hdc, and 2 dc to get down the ch.. from now on I’ll put it in brackets so you know its in the chain, 2 sc, ch 3 (sc, hdc), 2 sc, ch 4 (sc, hdc, dc), 3 sc, ch 3 (2 sc), 2 sc, ch 5 (sc, hdc, 2 dc), 3 sc, ch 3 (sc, hdc), 2 sc. And T.O.
I then took the end which I left rather long, threaded it back to where my small opening was and threaded it arounde before tugging it tighter to close that opening…

Ghost 2: Pacman looking one
1. Magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch (10)
3. Inc, sc. Repeat around (15)
4. Inc, 2 sc. Repeat around (20)
5 – 9. Sc in every stitch (20)
Here I did something similar to above, so to make it easier, I’ll use brackets again to indicate what I did down the chain.
10. sc, ch 3 (2sc), 2 sc, ch 4 (sc, 2 hdc), 2 sc, ch 3 (sc, hdc), 2sc, ch 4 (sc, hdc, dc), 2 sc, ch3 (2 sc), 2sc, ch 4 (2sc, hdc), 2 sc, ch 3 (2 sc), 1 sc, ch 4 (2 sc, hdc), 2sc, ch 3 (2sc), 2sc, ch4 (sc, 2 hdc), 2sc. T.O.

Then I made a base/bottom:
1. Magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch (10)
3. Inc, sc. Repeat around (15)
T.O.
I stitched this somewhere underneath pushing it up slightly so that the last row stood out on its own.

Ghost 3: Classic-y looking ghost
1. Magic ring with 5 sc.
2. inc in every stitch (10)
3. Inc, sc. Repeat around (15)
4. Inc, 2 sc. Repeat around (20)
5-7. Sc in every stitch (20)
8. dec, 8 sc. Repeat once (18) (or randomly 2 decreases)
9. dec, 7 sc. repeat (16) (or 2 random decreases)
10. dec, 6 sc. repeat (14) (or 2 random decreases)
11. dec, 5 sc. repeat (12) (or 2 random decreases)
12. dec, 4 sc. repeat (10) (or 2 random decreases)
13. dec, 3 sc. repeat (8) (or 2 random decreases)
14. dec, 2 sc. repeat (6) (or 2 random decreases)
15. dec, 1 sc. repeat (4) (or 2 random decreases)
T.O.

On these, I personally stuff them around row 12 or so and overstuff them a bit so I can then kinda pull some of the stuffing down into the smaller/thinner section with my hook. Then I kinda try to bend the tail a bit to give it that ghostly look…

Arms: x2
1. magic ring with 4sc
2. inc, sc. repeat (6)
3. inc, 2 sc. Repeat (8)
t.o.
I didn’t stuff the arms, but you can if you’d like. I liked doing this for the arms as I liked the pointy look they had.

Ghost 3: Variations (aka, more curvy tail)
Starting when you decrease (row 8), add both of your decreases to the beginning and sc the rest around. Follow this through the rest of the rows, it should curve more then.

Sometimes, I’ll add an extra couple of decreases to the row, but then around the opposite side of where I decreased, I’ll increase the same amount that I used extra decreases to keep the row with only 2 decreases.. so what I mean is that if I do 4 decreases on row 8 in the beginning, around st 7-9 I’ll increase twice, therefore I get only 2 decreases and it pulls it even more towards the decreases.

Leave a Reply

