Week 32-33: Totoro, pom-poms, and shrinky dinks.

**NOTE: The majority of this post was written for a week now. I just didn’t have pictures as I was being lazy so it rolled over another week and now I have more to show… which I’ll probably make another post just for sake of LONGNESS of this one**

Weeks 32-33:
So, when I try to make up a pattern.. or more like, when I try to write it down, it takes me longer than normal to crochet something. I don’t know why. Part of it may be because I’m trying to get it to look right and I have to be conscious of how many rows around I do, instead of just continuing with the rows. Anyway, these last two weeks I’ve been working on Totoro.

In case you didn’t realize, I love Hayao Miyazaki movies. He did My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Howl’s Moving Castle, + many others (still a bunch I haven’t seen too!)

There are many patterns for Totoro out there, but I wanted to make one of my own.. Granted, mine kinda looks like a glorified dust bunny, so maybe I should rename it to that. šŸ˜›

I’ll put the pattern on the bottom of the post, I swear.

Also, I made pom poms. A long time ago (talking yeaaaaaaars here) I bought a couple of different pom pom makers. I forget why, maybe because I was making a bunny and I wasn’t sure how to make a pom pom, or maybe I just like tools and I like to experiment. Anyway, luckily for me, I brought them with me up here instead of sending them home. (If all goes well, my next project will include one.)

I have two different brands, a clover one with the arms, and then one that looks like this:

I also have a clover heart pom pom maker, but I’ve yet to get it to look like a heart. I’ll post a picture of my recent “heart” and you’ll see what I mean.
So the clover ones I have are their smaller ones, or maybe their medium ones, I’m not too sure. But when I use it, it comes up as a tighter overall pom pom.

Good things about this, I dont have to guesstimate how much yarn I’m going to need. I just wrap it from the skein, no problems.

The other one, I need to tug out yarn and guess how much I need. I also feel like I need a yarn needle to go through the center. On one, I left the center blue piece in there, and on the other I tugged it out just because I wanted to see if it made much difference.


**Note: Before I took the pictures, I used one of the 4 pompoms I made, which you will see later, and another one disappeared completely meaning my little evil fur baby probably took off with it and it is under the bed, couch, or somewhere else I haven’t looked yet. Also, the one on the left is the one I made with the clover, and the one on the right is the one I made with the other one and the blue part pulled out.**

Anyway, both are great. I actually do like the clover one just a bit better because in my opinion, its a bit easier to use, but I like how the other pom poms came out bigger. I mean, you can always make your own pom pom maker as well.

Now for the “heart” pom pom…

**NOTE: I’ve since figured out what I’m doing wrong, and made a real heart one! I’ll share a picture in my next post**

This is only the second time I’ve tried it, and I haven’t figured it out yet. I might though, so I can’t say anything bad about it.

Then the last thing is I made shrinky dinks!
So, I don’t know how many of you had these when you were younger, but I love them. I loved them when I was little too. Now though, I get this pack of 6 blank pages of the plastic, I draw on there or just color scraps, then I cut it out and I like to punch a hole with a normal hole punch before I bake them for a few minutes.

Now I got these fun, sometimes quirky little charms.

Right, so the totoro pattern.
Body (grey):
1. Start with 5 sc in a magic ring.
2. inc in every stitch (10 st)
3. inc in first st, sc in next. Repeat around. (15 st)
4. Inc in first stitch, sc next 2. Repeat around (20 st)
5. inc in first stitch, sc in next 3. Repeat around (25 st)
6 – 9. sc around (25 st)
10. In outside st: inc in first st, sc in next 4. repeat around (30 st)
11. In both stitches. in in first st, sc in next 5. Repeat around (35 st)
12 – 19. sc around (35 st)
20. dec, sc in next 5. Repeat around. (30 st)
21. dec, sc in next 4. repeat around. (25)
22. dec, sc in next 3. Repeat around (20)
23. dec, sc in next 2. repeat around (15)
24. dec, sc in next 1. repeat around (10)
25. Dec around. (5) T.O.

Whites of eyes:
Start with 5 sc in a magic ring, but leave the center slightly bigger so you can slip the safety eye through. I like to slip stitch to the first stitch and t.o.

Stomach:
Right, so if you know how to make an oval, we’re going to do that sorta. What I did was after I made my chain and sc around it both side (start of the oval) then I chained and turned and didn’t continue around the second bend.
1. Ch. 6.
2. sc in 2 ch from hook. I wrote down that I had 6 sc (something tells me I didn’t have 6 here and I wrote it wrong), then 2 sc in last chain (for the turn) and then 5 sc along the other side. Ch 1, turn.
3. 5 sc, Inc, Inc, 5 sc, ch1 and turn.
4. 6 sc, Inc, 7 sc, ch 1 and turn.
5. 7 sc, Inc, inc, 6 sc, ch1 and turn.
6. 7 sc, inc, sc, inc, 7 sc. T.O.
It should look a bit like a parabola.

Arms:
1. Start with 5 sc in a magic ring.
2. inc in every stitch (10 st)
3. inc in first st, sc in next. Repeat around. (15 st)
4 – 11. sc around
T.O.

Ears:
1. Start with 4 sc in a magic ring.
2. Inc in first st, sc. Repeat. (6)
3. Inc in first st, sc in next 2. Repeat (8)
4. Inc in first st, sc in next 3. Repeat (10)
5. Inc in first st, sc in next 4. Repeat (12)
6. Sc around.
7. Dec, sc in next 4. Repeat (10)
8. Sc around. T.O.

Tail:
1. Start with 4 sc in a magic ring.
2. Inc in every st (8)
3. Inc in first st, sc in next 3. Repeat (10)
4. Inc in first st, sc in next 4. Repeat (12)
5. Inc in first st, sc in next 5. Repeat (14)
6 – 7. Sc around.
T.O.

Then assemble and there you have it!

Leave a Reply

