Week 27: To sell, or not to sell

Hi guys!
So last weekend, I found a convention near me. It’s an “everything” convention: anime, scifi, fantasy, comics, etc. And last year when I went to a convention with my friend, she cosplayed as Orihime from Bleach, and I made her a Kon to go with it. She left Kon with me after the weekend, but the one day I walked around with her and Kon, everyone complimented it. I was told by dealers I should sell there. Well, unfortunately, due to school, I had to move away, but something jogged my memory about it, and I looked into conventions around here.

Now comes my biggest debate with myself: To sell or not to sell.
See, I like making things. I like giving them away to friends and family. I make them because they make me happy. I don’t have to stick to a schedule or watch what sells better than others. I just MAKE things and if they don’t come out like I was planning, no hair of my back because it was for fun. I don’t have to keep creating the same pattern over and over. I don’t have to worry if I’m charging too much, or not enough. I’ve looked into it for etsy, and the entire thing made my head spin.

But this would be a little different. I’d be around people and interact with them. It could be an experience to see what people like and what they don’t like. I don’t have to rely on my sometimes crappy pictures because the yarn is uncooperative and not photogenic. ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyway, I’ll decide sometime soonish. Until then, because I was curious if I could make little things quickly, I made these little guys. Both of them took about a day each.

So, he’s not green. But I really wasn’t going for accuracy, more as a “could I make him fast?” thing. I already had out red yarn for some other idea that I frogged. But this little guy is supposed to be Cthulhu. Or a representation of him. I dunno. I really was just playing around and thought I’d give it a try.

Next: I made a chibi Kon. He’s no where near as good as my big Kon, but he’s adorable and looks a biiit like the big one.

Little one I made this week..

Big one I made previously:

And of course, as my friend eggs me on to do things, my Orihime:

So you can see the big one needs an ARM to hold him. Really, I was going for as accurate as possible with him. Need to for Cosplay! Both of them still need buttons for their bellies, I just haven’t found the right one yet. >.<

But yeah, I'm still thinking about it. If I do, I kinda wanna keep things little because they're easier on me to make. But they definitely don't have the THWAP power that the big guys do.

Anyway, what about you all? I know sites like Etsy are huge, but any of you try selling your work locally? How'd it go?

2 thoughts on “Week 27: To sell, or not to sell

  1. I sell mine via a “pop up” market stall with friends, 2 or 3 times a year. You could do a ‘one off” stall at the comic con and then if you enjoyed it, you could do another “one off” Your work is beautiful and kawaii and would indeed sell.
    I am happy to discuss any aspects.

    • XD Thank you so much! That’s what I was thinking, really. I figured I’d give it a try, now its just making enough things to put out. XD If I’m not happy with what I have in a month or so, then I won’t sign up, but keep making things for another one next year after my next dreaded move. ๐Ÿ˜›

Leave a Reply

