Week 6: Calcifer(s), a kitty blanket, and a dragon

Wow! 6 weeks! Can you believe it? I know I can’t. I wasn’t entirely sure when I started this if I would be able to keep up with the time restraints for it. I mean, I crochet a looooooooot, but I’ll also put it down for a while or only do a stitch or two and leave things half finished until I go back and frog it or finish it. This week felt a little weird to me since the previous month I started making those puff monsters and I couldn’t stop. So I sat on my couch the first couple of nights, and stared off into space wondering what I was going to do. I wanted to pick up more of the fun fur and create more puff monsters. It was really hard to stop myself from doing this. I already had 66 puff monsters, I told myself, and I’ve been giving them away to my cousin and shortly to be mailed out to friends or handed out as random gifts to people, I didn’t need to make more. (I failed though)

As I was going through my box though, I realized something. I had some that looked like fire, but they didn’t look right. What I mean by that is that I wanted them to look more like Calcifer from Howl’s Moving Castle than they did.
So I set out to create one that looked like him.

I used three different colors of eyelash yarn, the red one being Lion’s Brand Fun Fur, the orange was Lion’s Brand Romance, and the yellow came from Yarn Bee. For one of them, I put the yellow on the bottom and the orange in the middle with the red on top.
On the other, I put the orange on the bottom, blended it into the yellow in the middle, and then blended it into the red on top. (What I mean by blending is that every other stitch (or so) would be the other color. So, like my row would be 1 sc of yellow, the next of orange, the next of yellow) Did it really make much of a difference? I’m not too sure, but I do love how both of them came out.

I didn’t add the whites for the eyes, but I actually like the look of them without it. XD

Then, from Wednesday to today, I finished up my kitty blanket, adding in a border to it and hiding all those ends:

Lastly, I made this little dragon with the stubby wings:

That is all, happy crafting.

Leave a Reply

