Challenge week 3: Monsters!

So, I like video games a lot… I love the Zelda series, and Assassin’s Creed was fun for me, but I suck at stealth. It’d be like “I’m just going to sneaaak here.. and oh shit! They saw me! Run AWAY!! RUN AWAY!!! ATTACK ATTACK ATTACK!!” and I’d fail 90% of the stealth part of the missions.

With this in mind, I picked up Thief…

Mostly the game is pretty dark. Dark lights, dark settings, oh, and you may as well run around extinguishing all the candles so you can hide better. Now throw in some creepy ghost/memories/what not. All this I can handle. I may jump/be a little weirded out by it all, but I can handle it.

Until I reached the asylum.

Dark.
Abandoned.
Creepy.

I still haven’t finished the chapter. I have to take crochet breaks where I take breaths cause my heart is pounding so fast. The little hairs on the back of my neck are standing on edge.

I dunno what it is about asylums, but I definitely don’t like it.

In honor of that, here’s a monster that would haunt something like this.. well, maybe not as it is a cute little monster.

I used Lion’s Brand Fun Fur in bright blue. Then scrap yarn for the eyes, the mouth, and the feet.

For the body/head:
Starting with a magic ring with 5 sc.
Increase in each st – 10 st.
increase in the first st, sc in the next, repeat around – 15 st.
increase in the first st, sc in the next 2, repeat around – 20 st.
inc, sc in the next 3 – 25 st
inc, sc in the next 4. – 30.
I sc around about 4-5 times.. I wasn’t really counting. >.>
After that, I sc in the first stitch then ch 1 and turned before sc 21. (you should have 9 stitches unaccounted for)
I chained 1 and turned again before sc back to that first sc.. from there I ch 9 and sc into the last sc before sc around again.
When I hit the ch, I put 9 sc into the chain. before sc around until I reached the first sc of my row.
I sc around 1-2 more times after that.
dec, sc in the next 4, repeat – 25 st.
dec, sc in the next 3, repeat – 20 st.
sc around (it was to give a neck sort of appearance)
dec, sc in the next 2, repeat – 15.
dec, sc in the next one, repeat – 10
dec around – 5

For the eyes:
Start with a magic ring with 5 sc. Try not to pull your hole supppper tight.
increase in each st – 10. tie off.

For the mouth:
Starting with a magic ring with 5 sc.
Increase in each st – 10 st.
increase in the first st, sc in the next, repeat around – 15 st.
increase in the first st, sc in the next 2, repeat around – 20 st.
I folded it in half and sl st the corner then followed the back with slip stitches until I reached the other corner before tying off.

Legs:
Start with a magic ring with 5 sc.
Increase in each st – 10 st.
increase in the first st, sc in the next, repeat around – 15 st.
sc around
dec 4x, sc around – 11 st
sc, dec, sc around – 10 st.
sc around 3-4 times (or more depending on how you like the look.

Arms:
Start with a magic ring with 5 sc.
Increase in each st – 10 st.
sc around 7 x.
T.o.

Horns:
magic ring – 4 sc
inc, sc, repeat around – 6.
Tie off.

And there you have it. Your very own little monster.

Beyond the main monster, I made a troll, and a bunch of puff monsters.. 21 puff monsters to be exact.
You can either call them pygmy puffs, or tribbles, or even soot sprites… actually, I got a little of each in there. XD
I may be a little obsessed with making the the puffs..

And there you have it! I’m still working out the pattern for the soot sprite (more so the eyes than the rest of it.)

Happy Crafting everyone!

2 thoughts on “Challenge week 3: Monsters!

  1. Puff monsters! They’re sooo cute! I love the look of little monsters done in that fun fur wool stuff (totally failing to remember the right name for it). And that troll is pretty awesome too!

    • Thank you so much! It is so weird to work with as the “fur” part of the yarn stick out EVERYWHERE and cover the stitches. Though, now that i’m more used to it, I’ m definitely getting faster at it.

Leave a Reply

