Oliver the Awkward Dragon

Lately, I’ve been joining lots of ravelry groups. One of the groups has all these challenges/themes that you have to figure out what to make something to. AS I made the Weeping Angel for a different challenge in a different group, and I enjoyed it, I decided to have my hand at another challenge: Mythical Beasts. Well, that and I wanted to send a dragon to a friend. (My dragons will take over the world! bwahahaha! >.>)

So, thus was born Oliver:

He’s rather awkward as he’s glittery and fluffy and multicolored. He also doesn’tlike his name because it is not as cool as say, Smaug. (So says Oliver at least. I just ignored him and told him Oliver was a great name for a dragon)


The ears and tail I made using fun fur.
I made his wings similar to how I made the angel wings, but instead of doing 3 rows, I stuck to 2 and alternated the upper layer colors.

And underneath I used this grey fluffy-ish yarn for the wings:

Oliver is loosely based off of the Fierce Little dragon pattern by Lucy Ravenscar.
I didn’t openteh pattern, but as I’ve used it a few times, I’m know that I basically started it the same. xD

Anyone else like themes ofr their projects?
Happy crafting you all.

4 thoughts on “Oliver the Awkward Dragon

  1. Oliver is fabulous! I really like how you did the wings. I can definitely see the resemblances to the ‘Fierce but Friendly’ dragon, but I love your take on it!

    I don’t usually do themes in my projects, but it sounds like a good idea!

    • Thanks! I’m really happy with how he came out. I swear, I’m always going back tothat pattern and fiddling with it to make something newish.

      I probably wouldn’t normally.. but I found a doctor who themed challenge and then the mythical beasts one.. so, it wasnt like I was going completely out of my comfort zone. XD

Leave a Reply

