The Funky Elephant

As I mentioned previously, I asked the girls in my clinic (and the one guy) what animals were their favorites. Some of it did change when they realized I was making things for them, as people were like “Oh! but I’d want a ninja turtle!” (Or x or y animal), but overall, it was kinda fun getting these ideas for new things from people.

One girl stated she wanted an elephant. She then told me that the color choice was mine, but later asked for rainbow. Since I looove variegated yarn, I was happy to dig through my stash and find something that would fit what I’d like. I then decided to change the color of the ears and the tail, so it really is a funky looking thing.

Do you know how awkward it is to research elephant tails? Seriously! I was staring at the tails trying to figure out how I wanted to make them so it looked similar to what a real elephant would look like. Here’s the side view of mine.

Lastly, Cogaroo made a post on Amiselfies based off of All About Ami’s post and I decided to try my hand at it with the elephant.

Right, PATTERN:

Body:
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. inc in all stitchs – 10 st
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15 st.
4. inc, 2 sc, repeat around – 20 st.
5. inc, 3 sc, repeat around – 25.
6. inc, 4 sc, repeat around – 30
7. inc, 5 sc, repeat around – 35
8. inc, 6 sc, repeat around – 40
9 – 16. sc around
17. dec, 6 sc, repeat around – 35
18. dec, 5 sc, repeat around – 30
19. dec, 4 sc, repeat around – 25
20. dec, 3 sc, repeat around – 20
21. dec, 2 sc, repeat around – 15
22. dec, 1 sc, repeat around – 10
23. dec around – 5

Head:
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. inc in all stitchs – 10 st
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15 st.
4. inc, 2 sc, repeat around – 20 st.
5. inc, 3 sc, repeat around – 25.
6. inc, 4 sc, repeat around – 30
7. inc, 5 sc, repeat around – 35
8-10. sc around
11. dec, 5 sc, repeat around – 30
12. dec, 4 sc, repeat around – 25
13. dec, 3 sc, repeat around – 20
14. dec, 2 sc, repeat around – 15
15. dec, 1 sc, repeat around – 10
16. dec around – 5

Trunk
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. inc in all stitchs – 10 st
3-5. sc around
6. inc, 4sc, repeat – 12
7-8. Sc around
9. inc, 5 sc, repeat – 14
10-14. sc around
15. inc 5x, dec 4x, sc – 15.
16. sc, inc 4x, 2sc, dec 4x – 15
T.o.
(these last two rows you can just sc around 2 more times, but I like to do them since it’ll give the nose a slight bend in it)

Leg x4:
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. inc in all stitchs – 10 st
3. inc, sc, repeat around – 15 st.
4. in back loops only – sc around
5 – 13. in both loops – sc around
T.o.

Tusks x2:
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. sc around
3. inc, sc, inc, sc, inc – 8st.
4. sc around
5. inc, 3 sc, repeat – 10 st.
6-7. sc around
t.o.

Ears x2:
1. ch 6
2. starting in the 2nd chain from the hook, inc in each of the 5 ch, ch 1 and turn – 10 st
3. inc, sc, repeat until end, ch. 1 and turn – 15 st.
4. inc, 2 sc, repeat until end, ch. 1 and turn – 20 st.
5. inc, 3 sc, repeat until end, ch. 1 and turn – 25 st
6. inc, 4 sc, repeat until end, ch. 1 and turn – 30
7. inc, 5 sc, repeat until end, ch. 1 and turn – 35
sl st to inside circle
(you should have a half circle of stitches, I folded one end over a bit and stitched it to the head that way)

Neck:
1. ch. 10. sl st to the first ch.
2. sc around.

Tail:
1. magic ring – 5 sc
2. inc, sc, inc, sc, inc – 8
3. inc, 3 sc, repeat – 10
4 – 11, sc around
t.o.
Take strips of yarn and make a fringe on either side of the tail.. So, basically you make a U shape with the yarn, hook it through so you have the loop on your hook, then grab the ends and tug them through the loop. IT gives it that hairy look that elephant tails have.

And there you have it! Let me know if you make one, I’d love to see what you all come up with. As with all my patterns, please only use them for perosnal use, not for monetary gain.

Thanks for reading and happy crocheting!

4 thoughts on “The Funky Elephant

    • XD Thank you! I used uh….. uhhhhhhh…. Loops & Threads Impeccable Yarn, “tropical Storm” . I think. I remember the name was Tropical Storm, so it totally sounds right and looks right on a google search. I have no idea what the green one was. I lost the package for that one looong before I started this project.

      And of course! I try to give credit where it is due. XD

Leave a Reply

