Vaccines: Why they are important

This article by Dr. Raff sums up everything really nicely. She links articles and research, and everything. *nods* I kind of just wanted to bring awareness to it.

“People who choose not to vaccinate their children against infectious diseases are putting not only their own children at risk, but also other people’s children.” She states.

A good example is whooping cough
If you look at the number of cases per year you will see that it was going DOWN. YES, there were a few thousand per year. But NOW due to people not getting vaccinated against it, the number has skyrocketed. If you look at the timeline, Andrew Wakefield’s fradulent paper on autism came out only 4 years prior to this trend in cases (1998 to when it jumped up by a couple of thousand in 2002.) His false accusations were the most detrimental thing to this generation.

Or if that isn’t good enough… Look at the cases for Measles. Do you see that? We nearly got rid of it beyond a few cases here and there. But now… We’re seeing outbreaks Yes, it’s only 21 cases, and that doesn’t seem like a lot.. but for something highly contagious, it is.
Maybe you don’t think Measles is that big a deal… The Center for Disease Control and the World Health Organization seem to think so.
“Measles can be serious for young children. It can lead to pneumonia, encephalitis (swelling of the brain), and death.” States the CDC.
I know the WHO states its more dangerous for those with “reduced immunity” and you might think, “Oh, my kid is healthy! They’ll be fine!” Right. But it’s not fair to infect others who might not be as lucky. Do you really want to take the risk over your own child? Would you want others to risk your own child’s safety?

Look, I know getting shots is not the most fun thing in the world. I will totally admit that. I will also totally admit I have a phobia of needles (when they come AT me.. you should have seen how I was when we were giving each other anesthesia. My knuckles were white and my heart rate was probably raised the week they announced it until it was over.) BUT I will still go get my vaccinations (even if it means having a hand-holding buddy.) Any child I have will be vaccinated for their own safety and the safety of others. It’s that important.

Sorry, this is near and dear to my heart. It disheartens me to hear about the outbreaks of measles and whooping cough all because of the trend in anti-vaccination. It’s babies and kids who suffer the most and to me you shouldn’t mess with the kids, yo.

2 thoughts on “Vaccines: Why they are important

  1. I am so glad to see you share my opinion on vaccination! I know several families who don’t vaccinate their children, and to me that’s just terrible. My dad is a school teacher, and I’ve seen just how easy it is to spread diseases (as evidence by the amount of colds I get). Vaccinating kids so that they won’t spread the worst diseases sounds like it should be common sense. Great post!

    • Exactly. People don’t get it. Kids especially, as they haven’t been exposed to things as much as the rest of us, end up getting more diseases. Vaccination is like giving that person a shield in the battle. It’s there to help people. Yes, the shield is heavy, yes it won’t protect against everything, but it is there to help. Thanks for the comment. XD

Leave a Reply

