In which the Dragon bares her teeth

I don’t know how many people have seen this lovely article from the Huffington Post recently. If you haven’t read it, go ahead. It’s short. I can wait.

Now, I kind of get what the woman is saying. There is so much hype around certain authors that it does make it hard to get away from that author. BUT while the article does read as envious and bitter, that’s really not what made me angry.

“I’ve never read a word (or seen a minute) so I can’t comment on whether the books were good, bad or indifferent. I did think it a shame that adults were reading them (rather than just reading them to their children, which is another thing altogether), mainly because there’s so many other books out there that are surely more stimulating for grown-up minds”

1. You haven’t read the book, seen the movies, anything. YOU are not allowed to decide whether they are “stimulating” for adult minds.
But that’s the thing though, I’m not THAT young and I did avoid HP when it first came out because books with hype just.. I dunno. They aren’t MY thing. If I’ve already read it, or my friend/family recommends it, then yeah, I’ll pick it up. Plus, I was going through those teenage years where YA was right next to the kids books and as a socially awkward person, it made me feel ridiculous to be in that section. I thought the same thing, “these books are too young for me.”
But if the story is well written enough, it is not “too young” for anyone. It is just as stimulating for an adult as it is for a child.
I think it was in a foreward or an article or something from Charles de Lint where I heard this. I am not taking credit for it, I just cannot for the life of me remember where this idea came from (like where I read it or if was really him who said it or I’m just accrediting him because I love his work so much.) BUT it was stated that the author was a little apprehensive when writing a YA book, because they didn’t know HOW. Then they realized that the same principles, the same themes they write about for “Adult books” apply to YA, the only difference was to make a protagonist younger.

And there’s your secret. I’ve read de Lint’s YA books and some of them deal with hefty themes for kids. Then you look at books like the Hunger Games where kids are killing other children.

2. The other thing that really annoyed me about this statement was that she put down EVERYONE who read HP. All her potential fans she looks down on because they picked up a YA book. To me that entire statement just read as “No one who writes/reads YA are nearly as smart as those of us who don’t.” Attitude like that gives me a sour taste in my mouth. It’s like, STOP concerning yourself with what other people do. Be thankful that they are reading. Give praise to people instead of whatever that article was trying to prove. Be glad that a fellow author was able to get the fame and recognition. Here’s a little secret though, if you are only a writer for fame and money, then you are in it for the wrong reasons. Most professional authors are NOT well known. I love Charles de Lint. I will without a doubt say he is my favorite author, even though I haven’t read all his works. I bet most people who read this (if you read this) don’t even know who he is. Writing is an art. It is having a burning story inside you that you just NEED to get out.

I should know, I do like to write. It’s fun for me and there are times when I have characters or an idea screaming at the back of my skull. However, I do not have a thick enough skin to send my little darlings (usually by the end of a piece, they are bratty little children who I’m not even sure if I love them) out into the world. I do not have the motivation to receive rejection after rejection. This is why I will never be a published author. Plus add in the fact that I have issues sticking to big projects and it would take me waaaaaaay too long to finish a book than is absolutely necessary (talking years if not decades here) and I don’t really like editing my own work.. Mostly because you look at it and even though it’s okay and passable, the entire thing just looks flawed and is cringeworthy. (I kinda have this problem with my crochet projects as well. I cringe at some little flaw that is NOT noticeable to anyone else, but it just sticks out to me since I made it, an example would be if I didn’t get the eyes EXACTLY lined up because of the way I crochet.)

Anyway, I’ll put my soapbox away now. I’m trying to update this thing at least once a week with a project, and I did finish one yesterday. I’ll probably post it later though so it can have it’s own post. XD

Leave a Reply

